New Zealand vs India 2019: Kiwis Announces 13-Member Squad For T20I Series Against Indian Women

Well, the respective board of New Zealand Cricket has made quite a few interesting changes to their T20I squad that travelled for ICC Women World Cup 2018. They have given call-ups for a couple of youngsters, who have been quite brilliant in the domestic circuit. And also, called back Frances Mackay after 5 years.

Caitlin Gurrey and Rosemary Mair are the two young women, who received a call-up from the board to represent national cricket team against India. Gurrey has been one of the fluent run-scorers in the super smash while Mair impressed selectors with her effective bowling.

We are rewarding players for their performance – Coach Tiffen

Mackay and Gurrey had a phenomenal 2018-19 Super Smash where they topped the batting charts. The former scored two centuries and a 97 for Canterbury and the latter notched up scores of 102, 79 and 55.

Frances Mackay (Credits – Getty)

Meanwhile, right-arm pacer Mair picked up wickets on a consistent basis and also claimed 3 for 28 in the warm-up encounter against India. She will join the likes of Lea Tahuhu, Hannah Rowe and Hayley Jensen in the bowling department.

“We’ve had to draw a line in the sand after our performance at the T20 World Cup. We need to reward and give opportunities to players in form while building depth and competition for places within the environment,” New Zealand coach Haidee Tiffen said.

New Zealand women (Credits – Getty Images)

”Frankie, Katie and Rosemary can all be proud of how they have performed in their respective Super Smash campaigns. We are rewarding players who are in form and we feel these three deserve a chance at the highest level,” the coach added.

The squad looks pretty decent with all the bases being covered by the valuable players. Suzie Bates, Devine has given a lot of success to Kiwis in the recent past and the board would once again expect them to deliver the goods.

Here is the squad:

Amy Satterthwaite (C), Suzie Bates, Sophie Devine, Leigh Kasperek, Amelia Kerr, Katey Martin, Bernadine Bezuidenhout, Caitlin Gurrey, Hayley Jensen, Frances Mackay, Rosemary Mair, Hannah Rowe, Lea Tahuhu

The content does not represent the perspective of UC
Read Full Story in UC Browser
Share to your friends
Hot Comments
Read More Comments
KTM RC 390 || CLOSECALL || stupid car driver ||